Who’s driving?

Good day to you wonderful people and welcome to Monday!

Zoe will not enjoy this post today as I've already been driving her crazy going on about it…..another song has got me. Can't get it out of my head. I heard it many months ago but only got round to downloading it last week and now it's on repeat….a lot, and then there's the singing……my singing……that could be better. But the lyrics got me, made me stop and think. As well as being a cleverly written simile of living our lives being like a car being driven on a long journey it asks a very good question that all of us have to answer…who's driving?

The song is "Jesus Take The Wheel" by Carrie Underwood. Ms Underwood won American Idol season 4 (you know that show, devised by a British Guy, produced by a British Guy, where the votes are verified by an independent British company and the most popular star of the show is a British judge…..'American' Idol) and here are the lyrics:

She was driving last Friday on her way to Cincinnati
On a snow white Christmas Eve
Going home to see her Mama and her Daddy with the baby in the backseat
Fifty miles to go and she was running low on faith and gasoline
It’d been a long hard year
She had a lot on her mind and she didn't pay attention
She was going way to fast
Before she knew it she was spinning on a thin black sheet of glass
She saw both their lives flash before her eyes
She didn't even have time to cry
She was so scared
She threw her hands up in the air

Jesus take the wheel
Take it from my hands
Cause I can't do this on my own
I'm letting go
So give me one more chance
To save me from this road I'm on
Jesus take the wheel

It was still getting colder when she made it to the shoulder
And the car came to a stop
She cried when she saw that baby in the backseat sleeping like a rock
And for the first time in a long time
She bowed her head to pray
She said I'm sorry for the way
I've been living my life
I know I've got to change
So from now on tonight

Jesus take the wheel
Take it from my hands
Cause I can't do this all my own
I'm letting go
So give me one more chance
To save me from this road I'm on…Jesus take the wheel

It's a good old country song with a story and a catchy chorus and it spent many weeks at the top of the US country charts – have a listen by clicking here.

The question is a simple onewho is driving your life? Who is in charge? Who are you living for – yourself or Jesus? Yesterday and in recent weeks Keri Jones has ministered to All Nations Church in cardiff on 'Walking in the Fear of the Lord' – to walk in the fear of the Lord is to let Jesus take the wheel of your life and let him steer you on the right path.

So welcome to Mondaythis week, a simple encouragement – let Jesus take the wheel.

2 Responses to Who’s driving?

  1. Roger says:

    Just downloaded the song. Real nice; and I’m not a great country fan.

  2. Dave says:

    Hi Roger,

    I, and I am unashamed haha, am a little bit country. I find that a lot of the songs have good old stories as well as a nice sound. The lyrics are great too – another favourite of mine is Garth Brook’s “Standing outside the Fire” – best on his double live album.

    Here’s the hook:

    “Life is not tried, it is merely survived when you’re standing outside the fire”

    Now THAT speaks to me!

Leave a Reply

