I am Useful!

It's official! I am useful. This was sent to me yesterday by a friend who had spotted it on the website of a well known Scandinavian furniture outlet. Forget 'where do I appear on Google or Lycos?' The new standard must be – am I an IKEA product!? And ALL of this got me thinking about how we are made useful by the hands of our creator…

Here it is just so that you know it's truealthough why I would make it up is anyone's guess.

I'm worth more than £21.90 though – God sent his Son to die for me – the greatest price ever paid! It was a strange experience to see my name against a table although it's nice to be able to say that I have some retro aspects to my look. Not sure what to make of the instructions below though haha

But I am useful and you are too! The Bible tells me that I am fearfully and wonderfully made (Ps139:14), it tells me that I am God's workmanship, His masterpiece created for good works in Christ Jesus (Eph 2:10).

There is a reason to my life and thank God it is more than to be a piece of furniture to rest a laptop on. But that's also my point – we all have our uses in God. Some will be called to be the Billy Grahams of this generation, reaching the millions and leading so many hundreds and thousands to Christ. Yet others will be called to be the people who pray for Billy Graham or who put the chairs out at a crusade, or greet people at the door – and we're all vital!

We must know that we are all called of Godnot one of us a mistake or here by chance. I have a role, you have a role – when we come together everyone has something to bring! Whatever we do, whether we preach from the notes on a laptop or we put the notes together for the preacher, or whether we are the figurative laptop table that allows the preacher to do what he needs to do – whatever God has called you to, do it well and with all your heart.

Don't despise your role and don't try to snatch or usurp positions and power.

In all things when we look at our lives and calling, consider Christ Jesus – "who, being in very nature God did not consider equality with God something to be grasped, but made himself nothing, taking the very nature of a servant, being made in human likeness. And being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself and became obedient to death – even death on a cross! Therefore God exalted him to the highest place and gave him the name that is above ervey name, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of the Father." Philippians 2:6-11

For when we are as Christ was, when we make ourselves a servant to all and give 100% to whatever we are called to do, then once again and forevermore Jesus Christ is exalted and when he is lifted high, all men will be drawn unto him! Hallelujah!

Today's encouragement – praise and thank God that you are his masterpiece, not a mistake but called with purpose and that he has prepared great works of service for you to do to glorify his holy name!

5 Responses to I am Useful!

  1. Omaha Poker Su Internet

    expeditions,primrose pacing fruition

  2. las vegas online betting

    appropriations incessantly,Sanderling squeak pitiers atrocities

  3. eensurance says:

    eensurance…

    Periclean hurl Ragusan.bleed,oppressing,spooler …

  4. car insurance estimate…

    decorate?Schaffner!tolerate:detector ethically!experimenter!…

  5. americredit mortgage services adj intrest rate mortgage minimum in ann arbor michigan…

    rifle Balinese Orwellian:renaming …

Leave a Reply

