A Better Testimony?

I became a Christian when I was 5 years old. I have to be honest and say that I don’t remember the exact day or what I felt like in the days after the event….but I remember my day of salvation, I remember wanting Jesus in my life and I know that it happened there and then. That evening 23 years ago, Jesus was passing by,calling my name and as I responded her drew me in…I couldn’t and didn’t want to resist. Something happened in that moment –  I became a new creation.

I remember when I was younger longing for a better testimony….I marvelled at the ‘God saved me from my criminal ways and now he uses me to preach the gospel’ testimonies that I heard about. I loved to hear people recount of how they had turned away from a, b and sometimes c. I had nothing like that, no life of crime to be saved from and nothing much, at the age of 5, to turn away from…it bothered me if I’m honest. Looking back now that is such a nonsense!

You see, I have realised that my salvation is 100% and as rock soild and glorious as any I have ever heard or that there has ever been. Angels in heaven celebrated with me and for me the day I knew the Lord just as much as when Paul the Apostle or Zachaeus the tax man met Jesus and chose to follow him! There wasn’t just a polite ripple of applause from the angelic host when I was born again whilst Billy Graham received a standing ovation – we both had the same response; thunderous clapping and cheering. Heaven was glad that I was born again.

I had no past to turn away from but I was sinner and I thank God that he saved me early and took me out of the path of things I may have got mixed up in. I thank God that his grace to me was a confident and sure grace that spoke to me telling me that I didn’t have to grow up on societies terms but by the word of God. Yes, I have made mistakes and decisions which have cost….but I never had to face it alone, I didn’t have to be bound by guilt and beat myself up…..because I knew his saving grace, I had known his mercy first hand and I knew that forgiveness was mine if I would confess my sin to my dad, God the Father.

We don’t need better testimonies or to try and juice it up. It’s incredible that Jesus knew me for who I was – and before the foundation of the world! He chose me, sought me out, died for me, rose again for me and now sits at the right hand of God and has a place prepared for me’…..amazing grace! Whatever our history, whether we wer saved 50 years ago or in the past few seconds, our testimonies are valid and our names are written in the Lamb’s book of life. Now if that doesn’t make you feel great to be alive today then read this whole thing again and again!

Let me leave you for now with Psalm 92:15 (NLT) “They will declare, “The LORD is just! He is my rock! There is nothing but goodness in him!

2 Responses to A Better Testimony?

  1. Andrew Coe says:

    You need a category called ‘Real Truths’ or something like that. Surely ‘Ramblings’ does not do justice to such a wonder as your, or anyone else’s salvation!

  2. james says:

    Mate I went through exactly the same experience and thought process. I’m so grateful for everything that God saved me from! Great post Dave.

Leave a Reply

