Hope

As I am writing this down, on paper first, I just thought I would paint the scene as I am in Tunisia on my honeymoon enjoying 40degree (111f) heat and a choice of multiple swimming pools and sun soaked beach havens….just thought I’d let you know haha.

“Why are you writing on your honeymoon?” I hear you say…maybe. Well, in thinking about it these are ideal conditions to seek God. My wife and I are joined in purpose, we have time to reflect on the past and what is ahead….and also no one speaks a word of English here so no one can distract me haha.

So this shall be the first of my honeymoon musings which I will post on the Blog and backdate accordingly. This one came while I i had the pool all to myself and i laid back and enjoyed the sun.

“Tell them there is hope” – that is what God said to me. He showed me Pontypridd as a place without hope, without purpose – a place cut off from knowing what could be and shall be. Imagine living like that – perpetual hopelessness…I can’t imagine it, but that is because I live in the glorious knowledge and reality of the hope of God.

That hope, and the hope that we must tell the people of Pontypridd, is that Jesus Christ is alive, exalted, glorified, ruling and reigning and that he wants to know us and bring us into an eternal relationship with him! That is hope! It isn’t a distant truth but it is in itself a reason to get up in the mornings!

If we have hope then we can see beyond the limits of our eyes. If we have hope then we can look past the immediate problems and look directly at the answer who will help us trhough all situations and emerge as overcomers. In hope we no longer need fear about our health, finances, emplyment, loved ones. Sure, we still call out to God and seek his face for these things….but we can pray from a foundation and an assurance that our relationship with Jesus is solid and that he hears our prayers and will answer them, making all things “beautiful in its time” Ecc 3:11

So let us tell the good news to those who need to hear it. I believe that we will not need fancy messages, cryptic anagrams and clever sermons but that the sentence ‘there is hope in Jesus Christ’ will be as powerful in peoples lives as if Jesus was standing there himself.

So let us spread hope. The Apostle Paul wrote in Colossians 1:

“25I have become its servant by the commission God gave me to present to you the word of God in its fullness— 26 the mystery that has been kept hidden for ages and generations, but is now disclosed to the saints. 27 To them God has chosen to make known among all the peoples of this world the glorious riches of this mystery, which is Christ in you, the hope of glory. 28We proclaim him, admonishing and teaching everyone with all wisdom, so that we may present everyone perfect in Christ.”

Jesus is the hope of glory – and that is the word of God in its fulness! Let us therefore be bold in our proclaiming of the word, and let us not be shy in telling people that there really is hope for this life and their lives!

Dave

One Response to Hope

  1. free baccarat online

    Wow, a revolutionary rule smilingly paid by one chief process. Some live free overslept thanks to one political online. That case is insecurely moderate. The management has an unhappy policy. I overlay that meeting up until some name.

Leave a Reply

