What do you see?

What do you see?

That’s a question that God asks his prophet time and time again. It’s never a trick question either, God really does ask us the obvious of what is in front of us.

With that in mind I begin to wonder why we sometimes miss what God is showing us. God doesn’t want to trick us, mock us, play games with us or mislead us – none of that is of Him, in fact that’s not his nature at all. So how do we miss it, why do we miss it?

Looking at building God’s church in Pontypridd causes me to answer God’s question – what do I see? The answer I give surely depends on the vantage point I look at things. For example, if I was to walk down to the town centre in Ponty, to the river by Sion street – I wouldn’t actually see a lot. I’d see some life, I’d see poverty and people wandering about, youths with not much to do and a fairly run down area with not a lot going for it. But if I was to go and stand by the World War monument on The Common and look out over the valley, I know all of the other things are down there still but vantage point is such that I see further. I see the glorious hillsides, I see a bustling town, I see hundreds and thousands of cars going into and around Ponty as a hive of activity, I see, hundreds of streets, different communities…I could go on.

One of the limits we place on ourselves is the limit of vision. The vantage point I take allows me to see less or more, to see the immediate or the bigger picture – we need to see the bigger picture. The immediate can seem daunting. The bigger picture (which gives context to the sometimes daunting immediate) gives hope and focus to a goal.

For Pontypridd there is a big task ahead of us and it can seem daunting….but if we go up higher, if we see as God sees and look at Pontypridd as God sees it, with his eyes, his vision…then we cannot fail to see that His plan is bigger and better than we could ever hope for.

Challenge: wherever you are, Ponty or other….what do you see? Are you hindered by the immediate, daunted by the obstacles? Then go up higher, see the bigger picture, see what God sees and see that there is hope, a future and a plan.

Prov 29:18
Where there is no revelation, the people cast off restraint; NIV

Where there is no prophecy the people cast off restraint, RSV

Where there is no vision, the people perish: KJV


“When I dare to be powerful, to use my strength in the service of my vision, then it becomes less and less important whether I am afraid.” – Audre Lorde

Leave a Reply

